Conference Menu

Welcome Message from the Organizing Committee

On behalf of the Organizing Committee, we are delighted to invite you to the 105th Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition (CCCE 2022), jointly co-hosted in Calgary between June 13-17, 2022, by the University of Calgary and the University of Lethbridge. We are hopeful that an ease in the course of the COVID-19 pandemic following the Omicron wave will allow us to meet in person for the first time since 2019. 

The conference theme, Diversity and Innovation in Chemistry, reflects our broader society and highlights the diverse landscape of the discipline through the researchers it brings together, and the cutting-edge science they pursue. In this spirit, Professors Ewine Fleur van Dishoeck, astrochemist at Leiden Observatory and former President of the International Astronomical Union, Polly L. Arnold, rare earth and actinide chemist and Director of the Chemical Sciences Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, and Kenichiro Itami, synthetic organic chemist and director of Nagoya’s Institute of Transformative Bio-Molecules, have graciously accepted to deliver plenary lectures. 

As chemists and non-Indigenous organizers, we respectfully acknowledge the ancestors, the medicine and the teaching of the land that have in the past, and continue to positively influence our work and lives. It is because of the generosity of Indigenous Nations that we are able to host the CCCE 2022 conference and gather on the traditional territories of the Blackfoot Confederacy (Siksika, Kainai, Piikani), the Tsuut’ina, the Îyâxe Nakoda Nations, the Métis Nation (Region 3), and all people who make their homes in the Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta.  

We invite you to use this opportunity to not only explore the City of Calgary, the spectacular scenery of the Canadian Rocky Mountains situated immediately to the west, the wild Badlands to the north-east, and the prairie to the east, but also to take time to learn about the history, the oppression and the systemic barriers faced by Indigenous peoples, the care-takers of this ancestral land. 

We would like to thank our sponsors, the entire organizing team, and the participants who are all key to making this conference a success. 

Roland Roesler
Conference Chair 
Department of Chemistry, University of Calgary 

Belinda Heyne
Scientific Program Co-Chair 
Department of Chemistry, University of Calgary 

Paul G. Hayes 
Scientific Program Co-Chair 
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Lethbridge  

Organizing Committee

For all general conference inquiries, please contact us by email at or call 613-232-6252 |Toll Free: 1-888-542-2242.