Our subject matter interest groups unite people in the same specialty no matter where they are in Canada. Subject divisions hold their own symposia, and sponsor awards, scholarships, and competitions to promote interest and excellence in their fields. By connecting with a subject division, you’ll be able to explore your area of expertise in even more depth and enjoy connecting with people with a similar background.

You can become a member of a subject division when you join by selecting one on your application, or you can contact us to be added to one whenever you like.

Once you’re part of a subject division, you’ll receive emails that connect you to unique activities, special events, and news.

Contact a Subject Division

Most of these groups have their own websites if you want to learn more about them.

Analytical Chemistry

Christina Bottaro

Chair of the Analytical Chemistry Division

Memorial University

Biological and Medicinal Chemistry (BM)

Dustin King

Chair of the Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Division

Simon Fraser University



Interim Chair of the Biotechnology Division

University of Waterloo

Chemistry Education

Amanda Musgrove

Chair of the Chemistry Education Division

University of Calgary


Hui Wang

Chair of the Catalysis Division
University of Saskatchewan


Federico Galli

Chair of the Energy Division

Université de Sherbrooke

Environment (EN)

Craig Stroud

Chair of the Environment Division

Environment and Climate Change Canada

Green Division

Marissa Clapson

Chair of the Green Division

Inorganic Chemistry

Tim Storr

Chair of the Inorganic Chemistry Division

Simon Fraser University

Macromolecular Science and Engineering (MSED)

Todd Hoare

Chair of the Macromolecular Science and Engineering Division

McMaster University

Materials Chemistry

Kenneth Maly

Chair of the Materials Chemistry Division

Wilfrid Laurier University

Physical, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry (PTC)

Khashayar Ghandi

Chair of the Physical, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry Division

University of Guelph

Organic Chemistry

Jeremy Wulff

Chair of the Organic Chemistry Division

University of Victoria

Process Safety Management (PSM)

Hua Deng

Chair of the Process Safety Management Division

Alberta Energy Regulator

Rubber Chemistry

Richard Pazur

Chair of the Rubber Chemistry Division

Systems and Control

Nicolas Hudon

Chair of the Systems & Control Division

Queen's University

Surface Science (SS)

Vicki Meli

Chair of the Surface Science Division

Mount Allison University

(Subject Division is a joint CSC/Canadian Association of Physicists Division)

Technologists & Technicians (TT)

Murray Watt

Retired, formerly from Imperial Oil, Strathroy, ON