CIC Fellowship is a senior class of membership that recognizes the merits of CIC members who have made outstanding contributions across multiple areas:

  • Scientific, Engineering and Technical Contributions
  • CIC, CSC, CSChE, CSCT Activities
  • Management of Science, Engineering or Technology
  • Teaching, Mentorship, and Public Awareness

In general, candidates have made contributions in all four areas with outstanding contributions in a subset. Nominations are made by the CIC membership, either individually or by Local Sections and Subject Divisions. Nominations for CIC fellowships are completed by filling in the FCIC Nomination Form and sending it to the awards team at Nominations are reviewed by the CIC Fellowship Committee, a four-member committee of peers, that makes recommendations to the CIC Board for approval. New Fellows are announced and certificates are presented at an awards ceremony held in conjunction with annual conference of the Canadian Society for Chemistry or at the Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering. View the CIC Fellowship Nomination Guideline.

Fellowship Committee Terms of Reference

The 2021 Fellows of the CIC are:

J. Hugh Horton, FCIC
Queen’s University

Research gate

Professor J. Hugh Horton has been recognized for outstanding service to the CIC and CSC including as CIC Treasurer and Chair of the CIC Finance Committee, Member of the CIC Strategic Planning Committee, Treasurer of the CSC and Member of the Board of Directors, Chair of the CSC Accreditation Committee, and Vice Chair of the Surface Science Division. Vice Provost and Executive Director of the Bader International Study Centre at Queen’s University, Dr. Horton is also recognized for significant service to the delivery of Chemistry curricula at both the Kingston and UK campuses of Queen’s University, as well as for seminal contributions to materials science research.


Charles Jia FCIC

Charles Jia, FCIC
University of Toronto

Dr. Charles Jia is a professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry at the University of Toronto, where he has been directing the Green Technology Lab since 1996, after obtaining a Ph.D. degree in Material Engineering from McMaster University. Before his career in Canada, he taught at Chongqing University in China, where he obtained the first two engineering degrees. Passionate about sustainability and the well-being of the planet, Dr. Jia has chosen a critically essential but not-so-glorious research field – Industrial Waste. He is an internationally recognized expert on nanoporous carbon materials and applied sulphur chemistry. Through strategic partnerships with the non-ferrous metal and petroleum industries, his creative work has unlocked the potential of some major industrial waste in enhancing sustainability and helped strengthen Canada’s global position as a natural resource powerhouse. His pioneering work on exploring new ways to utilize carbon extracted from natural resources has helped create much-needed solutions to reduce carbon dioxide emissions and alleviate climate change. Dr. Jia is a devoted community leader and has recently served as President of the Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering. He is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering.


Jennifer Love FCICJennifer Love, FCIC
University of Calgary
Twitter logo 

Prof. Jennifer Love obtained her Bachelor’s degree from Allegheny College in 1994 and her PhD from Stanford University in 2000. After postdoctoral research at the California Institute of Technology, she began her independent career at the University of British Columbia in 2003. She moved to the University of Calgary in 2019, where she is Professor and Head of the Department of Chemistry. Her research interests span inorganic, organometallic and organic chemistry with a focus on mechanistic analysis, catalyst design, developing new homogeneous catalytic transformations, and synthesis. Her work is internationally known for the development of unique and powerful synthetic methods and deep insight into mechanism. She has developed important new catalytic transformations for the synthesis of chemical feedstocks, pharmaceutical building blocks, and medicinally important compounds. She has won numerous awards, including the Intellisyn Pharma Award in 2018, Alexander von Humboldt fellowship in 2012, and a Killam Teaching Prize in 2009.


Gilles H. PeslherbeGilles Peslherbe, FCIC
Concordia University
Group website
Research gate

Prof. Gilles Peslherbe earned a Diplôme d’Ingénieur Chimiste from the Ecole Supérieure de Chimie Industrielle de Lyon (France) in 1991 and a PhD in theoretical chemical physics / computer engineering from Wayne State University (United States) in 1995. Following a Post-Doctoral Fellowship at the University of Colorado and Colorado State University, he joined Concordia, where he is now a Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, cross-appointed with Physics and Chemical and Materials Engineering. Peslherbe was among the pioneers in the development of realistic molecular-level computer simulations of chemical problems based on first principles. His broad chemical modeling research program encompasses applications ranging from materials engineering to environmental and biological chemistry and involves fruitful collaborations with experimental groups. Peslherbe is the founding Director of the Montreal-based Centre for Research in Molecular Modeling, the mission of which is to promote excellence in research and training in computational chemistry, physics, biology and engineering. He is a dedicated educator, having mentored a large diverse group of research trainees who hold faculty or research positions in Canada and abroad. Peslherbe is an eager promoter of science, computational sciences in particular, having chaired numerous conferences and serving on many review committees and professional organizations.


Allan W. ReyAllan W. Rey, FCIC
Apotex Pharmachem Inc.

Allan Rey is currently Senior Manager, Research, Technology and Intellectual Property Affairs at Apotex Pharmachem Inc. in Brantford, Ontario, where he has been employed since 1996. He and his team have contributed to the development and implementation of many cost-effective, innovative, and scalable synthetic routes to active pharmaceuticals and to the identification of advantageous solid forms. His research has resulted in 34 issued patents/patent applications. More recent areas of research have focused on exploring technologies such as continuous flow manufacturing, robotics for high throughput screening, and gas/solid phase reactions. Prior to joining Apotex he was employed by Bristol-Myers Squibb (Candiac) and Dow Chemical (Sarnia).  After his HBSc (Western), he obtained his PhD (University of Ottawa, Prof. René Roy) followed by a post-doctoral position at Queen’s (Prof. Walter Szarek). Throughout his career, he has actively promoted industrial chemistry by his interactions with the CSC (Director of Industrial Liaison, 2013-2016 and the Hamilton CIC Local Section) and academia (Queen’s Chemistry Innovation Council, 2013-present).  Always passionate to support students, he has participated in various mentorship activities and has been on the Hillier Foundation Board of Directors since 2018. He is a member of the CIC, ACPO, and ACS.