Subject Divisions

Subject Divisions of the CIC bring together individuals with common areas of interest and expertise, in order to create networking opportunities and to encourage productive sharing of ideas. Subject Divisions organize symposia, sponsor awards, scholarships and competitions to promote interest and excellence in the discipline. Being involved in a Subject Division is another way for you to network and be active in your field.

To become a member of a Subject Division, simply select your Subject Division choices on your application for membership in one of the Constituent Societies of the CIC. You will be informed of the events, activities and news of your Subject Division via e-mail.

Contact a Subject Division:

Analytical Chemistry
Nick Toltl
Chair of the Analytical Chemistry Division
Concept 2 Clinic Incorporated
905-577-7172
nick.toltl@concept2clinic.com
View full executive contact details

Biological and Medicinal Chemistry
Jeffrey Keillor
Chair of the Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Division
University of Ottawa
613-562-5800 ext. 6314
jkeillor@uottawa.ca

Biotechnology
Lars Rehmann
Chair of the Biotechnology Division
Western University
lrehmann@uwo.ca

Canadian Green Chemistry and Engineering Network
Bernard West
Co-Chair of the CGCEN
Joelle Pelletier
Co-Chair of the CGCEN
613-232-6252
info@cheminst.ca

Catalysis
Tom Baker
Chair of the Catalysis Division
University of Ottawa
613-562-5800, ext. 7108
rbaker@uottawa.ca

Chemistry Education 
(formerly Chemical Education)
Robin Stoodley
Chair of the Chemistry Education Division
University of British Columbia
stoodley@chem.ubc.ca

Energy
Chair position is vacant. Contact info@cheminst.ca to inquire.

Environment
Feiyue Wang
Chair of the Environment Division
University of Manitoba
204-474-6250
wang@ms.umanitoba.ca

Inorganic Chemistry
Christian Reber
Chair of the Inorganic Chemistry Division
Université de Montréal
514-343-7332
reber@chimie.umontreal.ca
View full executive

Macromolecular Science and Engineering
William Skene
Chair of the Macromolecular Science and Engineering Division
Université de Montréal
w.skene@umontreal.ca

Materials Chemistry
Jean-François Morin
Chair of the Materials Chemistry Division
Université Laval
Jean-Francois.Morin@chm.ulaval.ca

Organic Chemistry
Jean-François Paquin
Chair of the Organic Chemistry Division
Université Laval
418-656-2131, ext. 11430
jean-francois.paquin@chm.ulaval.ca

Physical, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry
Jason Pearson
Chair of the Physical, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry Division
University of Prince Edward Island
jpearson@upei.ca

Process Safety Management (PSM)

PSM Division Secretary
psmsecretary@cheminst.ca

Rubber Chemistry
Marvin Myhre
Chair of the Rubber Chemistry Division
905-892-0728
marvin@crtdl.com

SCI Canada / Economics and Business Management
CIC National Office
info@cheminst.ca

Surface Science
(Subject Division is a joint CSC/Canadian Association of Physicists Division)
Erika Merschrod
Chair of the Surface Science Division
Memorial University
erika@mun.ca

Systems and Control
Luis Ricardez Sandoval
Chair of the Systems and Control Division
University of Waterloo
laricardezsandoval@uwaterloo.ca