Subject Divisions

Subject Divisions of the CIC bring together individuals with common areas of interest and expertise, in order to create networking opportunities and to encourage productive sharing of ideas. Subject Divisions organize symposia, sponsor awards, scholarships and competitions to promote interest and excellence in the discipline. Being involved in a Subject Division is another way for you to network and be active in your field.

To become a member of a Subject Division, simply select your Subject Division choices on your application for membership in one of the Constituent Societies of the CIC. You will be informed of the events, activities and news of your Subject Division via e-mail.

Contact a Subject Division:

Analytical Chemistry
Ken Yeung
Chair of the Analytical Chemistry Division
Western University
519-661-2111 ext. 86439
View full executive contact details

Biological and Medicinal Chemistry
Jeffrey Keillor
Chair of the Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Division
University of Ottawa
613-562-5800 ext. 6314

Lars Rehmann
Chair of the Biotechnology Division
Western University

Canadian Green Chemistry and Engineering Network
Bernard West
Co-Chair of the CGCEN
Joelle Pelletier
Co-Chair of the CGCEN

Josephine Hill
Chair of the Catalysis Division
University of Calgary.

Chemistry Education 
(formerly Chemical Education)
Robin Stoodley
Chair of the Chemistry Education Division
University of British Columbia

Chair position is vacant. Contact to inquire.

Feiyue Wang
Chair of the Environment Division
University of Manitoba

Inorganic Chemistry
Christian Reber
Chair of the Inorganic Chemistry Division
Université de Montréal
View full executive

Macromolecular Science and Engineering
William Skene
Chair of the Macromolecular Science and Engineering Division
Université de Montréal

Materials Chemistry
Jean-François Morin
Chair of the Materials Chemistry Division
Université Laval

Organic Chemistry
Jean-François Paquin
Chair of the Organic Chemistry Division
Université Laval
418-656-2131, ext. 11430

Physical, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry
Javier Giorgi
Chair of the Physical, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry Division
University of Ottawa

Process Safety Management (PSM)
PSM Division Secretary

Rubber Chemistry
Marvin Myhre
Chair of the Rubber Chemistry Division

SCI Canada / Economics and Business Management
BASF Canada Inc.

Surface Science
(Subject Division is a joint CSC/Canadian Association of Physicists Division)
Erika Merschrod
Chair of the Surface Science Division
Memorial University

Systems and Control
Luis Ricardez Sandoval
Chair of the Systems and Control Division
University of Waterloo