Sponsored by Strem Chemicals, Inc.

Strem Chemicals Inc.

The Strem Chemicals Award is presented to a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant who has made an outstanding contribution to inorganic chemistry, demonstrating exceptional promise, while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2020 winner of the Strem Chemicals Award for Pure or Applied Inorganic Chemistry is:

Joe B. Gilroy, MCIC 
University of Western Ontario

Joe B. Gilroy is an associate professor in the Department of Chemistry at The University of Western Ontario. Originally from the West Coast of Canada, he completed both his BSc and PhD at the University of Victoria where he conducted research in stable radical chemistry under the supervision of Robin Hicks.  He moved to the University of Bristol for his postdoctoral studies where he worked in several different areas of metal-containing polymer chemistry with Ian Manners as an NSERC and EU Marie Curie PDF. At Western, Gilroy leads a talented team of hard-working students and postdocs who work in many different areas of synthetic materials chemistry, with major focuses including the development of luminescent and semiconducting molecular and polymeric materials containing unique combinations of group 13, 14, and 15 elements. He has published 85 scientific papers and 2 patents and his work has been recognized by several awards, including the Thieme Chemistry Journal Award, Western’s Petro-Canada Young Innovator and Faculty Scholar Awards, the CNC-IUPAC travel award, and an Ontario Early Researcher Award.

Past Winners


Tim Storr

Simon Fraser University
Society: CSC

Eric Rivard

University of Alberta
Society: CSC

Dwight Seferos

University of Toronto
Society: CSC

Curtis P. Berlinguette

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC

Muralee Murugesu

University of Ottawa
Society: CSC

Paul Ragogna

Western University
Society: CSC

Mark MacLachlan

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC