Four University of New Brunswick (UNB) students took home top honours in the 2013 SNC-Lavalin Undergraduate Plant Design Competition held by the Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering (CSChE) last October at the 63rd Canadian Chemical Engineering Conference in Fredericton. The UNB team included Jeremy Hughes, Bruce Scott, Erin Flanagan and Cody Brown, whose project, “The Use of Solid Catalyst Technology in the Alkylation of Refinery Grade Propylene,” was sponsored by Irving Oil Ltd. and co-mentored by Brian Lowry and Linda Bulmer. First prize was $1,000 and a one-year CSChE undergrad membership for each team member. 

The annual SNC-Lavalin Undergraduate Plant Design Competition attracts capstone design projects from chemical engineering departments across Canada.