The Royal Society of Canada (RSC)

This past September, The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) announced that Paul Ayers, FCIC, an associate professor of chemistry at McMaster University, is this year’s winner of the Rutherford Memorial Medal for outstanding research in physics and chemistry. Ayers is one of the world’s leading theoretical and computational chemists. The RSC induction and awards ceremony is set for Nov. 22 at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac in Quebec City. 
The following chemists and chemical engineers were also welcomed as new RSC Fellows. They include:

  • Ajay Dalai, FCIC, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Saskatchewan; 
  • David P Wilkinson, FCIC, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, The University of British Columbia;
  • Peter Zandstra, Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, University of Toronto;
  • Shiping Zhu, FCIC, Department of Chemical Engineering, McMaster University;
  • Deryn E. Fogg, FCIC, Department of Chemistry, University of Ottawa;
  • Mark MacLachlan, Department of Chemistry, The University of British Columbia.
  • Rising chemistry and chemical engineering stars were named to the RSC’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists, the country’s first national system of multidisciplinary recognition for an emerging generation of Canadian intellectual leadership. They include: 
  • Pascale Champagne, Department of Civil Engineering, Queen’s University; 
  • Josephine Hill, Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering, University of Calgary; 
  • Milica Radisic, Department of Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry, University of Toronto;
  • David Vocadlo, Department of Chemistry, Simon Fraser University; 
  • Ying Zheng, FCIC, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of New Brunswick.