Dan Bizzotto of the University of British Columbia has been selected as the winner of the 2015 Prix Jacques Tacussel from the International Society for Electrochemistry, in recognition of his contribution to the development of in situ electrochemical fluorescence microscopy and its application to molecular and biomolecular adsorption. The prize will be presented at the 2016 annual meeting in The Hague, Netherlands. 

The Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering Student Chapter Merit Award winners were announced. First Prize goes to Laurentian University­ Chemical Engineering Chapter. Honourable mentions go to McMaster University Chapter Chemical Engineering Club and University of Toronto­ CSChE Student Chapter. The merit awards recognize initiative and originality in student chapter programing.

The 2015 recipient of the CSChE Chemical Engineering Local Section Scholarship is Carol Choi of University of Toronto. The scholarship, sponsored by the Edmonton CSChE, London CIC and Sarnia CIC Local Sections, is presented to undergraduate students in chemical engineering entering their final year of studies who have shown leadership qualities and demonstrated contributions to the CSChE such as participation in Student Chapters as well as academic performance.

The Public Service Award of Excellence 2015 recipients­ for the Scientific Contribution category are the National Research Council Canada’s Nanotube Manufacturing Team, which includes Benoit Simard, FCIC, and Stéphane Dénommée.

The Royal Society of Canada announced its 2015 list of new Fellows. They include: Levente Diósady, FCIC, Jesse Zhu, FCIC, Barry Lever, FCIC, and Suzanne Fortier, FCIC.

Bob Masterson was selected to be the new president and CEO of the Chemistry Industry Association of Canada (CIAC). He replaces the retiring Richard Paton, who headed the CIAC for 19 years.

Aaron Wheeler of the University of Toronto Department of Chemistry has been inducted into the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists­ of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC). Established­ last year, this division of RSC recognizes high achievement by scientists at an early stage of their career.