January 18, 2017

CNC-IUPAC 2017 travel award winners (L-R): Anna Ignaszak, Artur Izmaylov, Joseph Gilroy and Russ Algar.  

Four emerging Canadian chemists have been awarded Canadian National Committee for the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (CNC-IUPAC) travel awards, which will support their participation in 2017 IUPAC-sponsored international conferences. Winners include Joseph Gilroy of the University of Western Ontario, who will be attending the 12th International Conference on Advanced Polymers via Macromolecular Engineering in Ghent, Belgium this May.  Russ Algar of the University of British Columbia will attend the Colloquium Spectroscopicum Internationale XL in Pisa, Italy this coming June. Meanwhile, Anna Ignaszak of the University of New Brunswick and Artur Izmaylov of the University of Toronto will attend the 46th IUPAC World Chemistry Congress in Sao Paulo, Brazil in July. Complete biographies of the 2017 award winners can be found on the CNC-IUPAC website.

The CNC-IUPAC is the only IUPAC national committee that offers travel awards of this kind. They are jointly financed by the Canadian Society for Chemistry’s Gendron Fund and by the CNC-IUPAC’s 2016-17 company associates: The Woodbridge Group – Woodbridge Foam Corporation and H.L. Blachford Ltd. 

Application deadline for the 2018 CNC-IUPCA travel awards is Oct. 21, 2017. For more information, visit the CNC-IUPAC website.