Sponsored by the Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering

The R.S. Jane Memorial Award is presented to a person, who, while residing in Canada has made an exceptional achievement to the field of chemical engineering or industrial chemistry.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2020 winner of the R. S. Jane Memorial Award is:

Ajay K. Dalai, FCIC 
University of Saskatchewan

Ajay Dalai is the Canada Research Chair in Bioenergy and Environmentally Chemical Processing and a leading international expert on renewable energy, heavy oil and gas processing, and catalytic reaction engineering. His innovative research has resulted in numerous international publications and many patents for processes and catalysts he has developed, which have had significant impact on the Canadian petroleum and bioenergy industry. Professor Dalai is a Fulbright Fellow, a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, a Fellow of the Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC), a Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada, a Fellow of the Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers, and more recently the 2014 CIC Bantrel Award in Design and Industrial Practice winner.

Past Winners


Levente L. Diosady, FCIC

University of Toronto
Society: CSChE

Jamal Chaouki

Polytechnique Montréal
Society: CSChE

Sirish L. Shah, FCIC

University of Alberta
Society: CSChE

Shiping Zhu, FCIC

McMaster University
Society: CSChE

James M. Piret, FCIC

University of British Columbia
Society: CSChE

David P. Wilkinson, FCIC

University of British Columbia
Society: CSChE

Jesse Zhu, FCIC

Western University
Society: CSChE