Award for Research Excellence in Materials Chemistry

Sponsored by the CIC Materials Chemistry Division

Materials Chemistry Division

The Award for Research Excellence in Materials Chemistry is presented to a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant who has made an outstanding contribution to materials chemistry while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2019 winner of the Award for Research Excellence in Materials Chemistry is:

Tomislav Friščić
McGill University

Tomislav Friščić is an associate professor and William Dawson Scholar at the Department of Chemistry, McGill University. After a BSc at the University of Zagreb with Branko Kaitner in 2001, and PhD at University of Iowa with Leonard MacGillivray in 2006, he was a post-doctoral researcher with William Jones at the Pfizer Institute for Pharmaceutical Materials Science, University of Cambridge. In 2011, following a Herchel Smith Fellowship at the University of Cambridge, he joined McGill University as an assistant professor.

His research focuses on creating new, cleaner, more efficient methodologies for the synthesis and discovery of functional materials, including organic pharmaceutical solids, metal-organic frameworks, as well as for the manufacture and recycling of metals and metal-based materials.

He is a co-founder of two start-up companies: Acsynam, dedicated to green manufacture of materials, and Form-Tech Scientific, focused on developing research instrumentation. He is a co-author of over 200 papers and book chapters, and a co-inventor of 10 patent applications. His work in materials chemistry and green chemistry was recognized by several awards, including Steacie Prize for Natural Sciences (2018), Rutherford Medal of the Royal Society of Canada (2018), NSERC E. W. R. Steacie Award (2016), and RSC Harrison Meldola Medal (2011).

Past Winners

Xueliang (Andy) Sun
University of Western Ontario

Jonathan Veinot
University of Alberta

Mark MacLachlan
University of British Columbia

Dmitrii F. Perepichka, McGill University
Presented by Jonathan Veinot, Past Chair, Materials Chemistry Division (right)

Federico Rosei
Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS)

Alex Adronov
McMaster University