Julia Levy Award

Presented to recognize successful commercialization of innovation in Canada, in the field of Bio-medical Science and Engineering, with a particular focus on the synergistic relationship between university and business.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2017 winner of the Julia Levy Award is:

David Allan
Cresswell Advisors Inc.

David Allan is the Principal at Cresswell Advisors Inc.

David Allan is the Principal at Cresswell Advisors Inc. He was the founding and sunset chair of YM BioSciences Inc., and CEO from 1998-2011; founding chair of Formation Biologics; executive chair of Stem Cell Therapeutics (now Trillium Therapeutics). He has been a member of the awards selection committee of Canada’s Networks of Centres of Excellence and the multidisciplinary assessment committee of the Canada Foundation for Innovation. He was formerly a governor of the Toronto Stock Exchange and, 1992, founded the first biotech-specific investment banking team in Canada.

He is the recipient of the 2016 Life Sciences Ontario Leadership Award and the 2012 Gold Leaf Award from BIOTECanada.

In the final decade of a 35-year career in investment banking he founded the first Canadian investment banking and research team specializing in the life sciences.

Mr. Allan is also a founding and sunset chair of the Toronto Stock Exchange Market Access Implementation Committee that created access for small and medium-sized enterprises to Canada’s principal capital market and was a member, and working group chair of the Ontario Biotechnology Advisory Board. He has been a board member of the Shaw Festival Theatre and of the board of trustees for the Ontario College of Art and Design. 

Past Winners

Gregory Penner
President and CEO, NeoVentures Biotechnology Inc.

Julian Adams
Infinity Pharmaceuticals