Sponsored by the E.W.R. Steacie Endowment Fund (Supported by the CSC Board and some Subject Divisions of the CIC and CSC)

The E.W.R. Steacie Award is presented to a scientist who has made a distinguished contribution to chemistry while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2019 winner of the E.W.R. Steacie Award is:

Douglas W. Stephan
University of Toronto

Douglas Stephan, completed his PhD with Nicolas Payne at the University of Western Ontario in 1980. After NATO postdoctoral studies with R.H. Holm at Harvard in 1980-1982, he was appointed assistant professor at the University of Windsor, where he moved through the ranks, to professor in 1992. In 2008, he took up a position as Canada Research Chair and professor at the University of Toronto. He has published >500 scientific articles, given over 320 invited lectures and filed 90 patents.

His early work focused on “early-late” heterobimetallics, Zr-P, Ti-S and Ti–phosphinimide chemistry. The latter led to new commercialized olefin polymerization catalysts. However, he is best known for the discovery of the concept of “Frustrated Lewis Pairs” in 2006 which allows the use of main group systems in a variety of catalytic processes. The subsequent development of P-based Lewis acids in catalysis has furthered this revolution in main group chemistry and catalysis.

Stephan’s discoveries have garnered over 30000 citations and numerous recognitions.

Past Winners


Josef Zwanziger

Dalhousie University
Society: CSC

Jillian Buriak

University of Alberta
Society: CSC

Richard Oakley, FCIC

University of Waterloo
Society: CSC

William Cullen

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC

A. B. P. Lever

York University
Society: CSC

Lewis E. Kay

University of Toronto
Society: CSC