The Canadian Society for Chemistry (CSC) granted Qatar University (QU) its second-cycle accreditation this past June. QU received its first-cycle accreditation in 2011 and the second cycle reassessment involved a site visit by members of the CSC accreditation committee as well as CSC past president Youla Tsantrizos. The Canadian Ambassador to the State of Qatar, Adrian Norfolk, along with Tsantrizos, also attended a graduation ceremony where they presented the department and students with their accreditation certificates. Qatar representatives included professor Hala Sultan S. Al Easa, head of the Department of Chemistry and Earth Sciences, Hassan Rashid Al-Derham, president of Qatar University and Eiman Mastafawi, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, Qatar University.