Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC) members Nicolas Abatzoglou, Gregory Evans, Robert Magee, Vladimiros Papangelakis, Federico Rosei, Michael V. Sefton, FCIC, and Huining Xiao were awarded Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) Fellowships in June. Fellows of the academy are elected by their peers to recognize distinguished  achievements and career-long service­ to the engineering profession.

R. Bruce Lennox, FCIC, officially took office as Dean of Science at McGill University this past July. A Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), as well as current Chair of the Chemical Institute of Canada, Lennox played a key role in the renewal of laboratory teaching in McGill’s Department of Chemistry and is a champion of increased interdisciplinarity. 

This past June, chemist Margaret-Ann Armour, FCIC, OC (University of Alberta), was named as one of five pioneers and leaders of Edmonton to have new public schools named after them. Affectionately known as “Science Mom” at St. Jerome Academy in east Edmonton, Armour has been very active in promoting science to youth, particularly through her role as head of the Women in Scholarship Engineering, Science and Technology (WISEST) program. 

Maria DeRosa, Carleton University, received a 2015 Capital Educators’ Award at the annual Capital Educator’s Awards and Gala Celebration (EduGala) held in Ottawa this past May. The award recognizes achievements of outstanding educators and celebrates public education in our community across the education spectrum from kindergarten to PhD.

University of Waterloo chemical engineering professor Garry Rempel, FCIC, was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada (CM) on July 1 for his exceptional contributions to the field of chemical engineering, particularly in the area of rubber technology. The Order of Canada recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.