The Chemical Institute of Canada is pleased to announce the 2016 Fellows: Michael Cunningham, FCIC, of Queen’s University; Faisal Khan, FCIC, of Memorial University and Handan Tezel, FCIC, of the University of Ottawa. CIC Fellowships are a distinctive type of membership that recognize the merits of members of the constituent societies of the CIC who have made outstanding contributions.

Ashok Vijh, FCIC, is one of the recipients of the inaugural University of Ottawa Faculty of Science Alumni Award of Excellence. The awards were created to highlight its most successful alumni to raise the profile and inspire pride in the uOttawa community.

The Canada Council for the Arts named the recipients of the 2016 Killam program. Axel Becke, FCIC, of Dalhousie University was recognized in the Natural Science category and Elizabeth Edwards of the University of Toronto was recognized in the Engineering category. The professors will each receive a $100,000 prize to honour their career achievements.  

Robert Hayes, FCIC, of the University of Alberta is the recipient of the 2016 Canadian Catalysis Lectureship Award, sponsored by the Canadian Catalysis Foundation.

Jillian Buriak and Jonathan Veinot of the University of Alberta received DICHEM Awards from the city of Burghausen, Germany for their research in the field of silicon chemistry.  

Roberto Chica of the University of Ottawa is a recipient of a 2016 Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP) grant to fund cutting-edge work by international teams of scientists. HFSP is the only international program that encourages bottom-up applications from teams involving scientists worldwide.

David Wilkinson, FCIC, of the University of British Columbia received the Partners In Research Technology Ambassador Award 2016. Partners in Research recognizes exceptional Canadian research and the communication of that research to the lay community.