Tsun-Kung Sham was named an Officer of the Order of Canada. Sham was recognized for his leadership in establishing the Canadian Light Source research facility and for his seminal scientific contributions using synchrotron radiation.

The Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC) congratulates the following chemical engineers on their Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) Fellowships: Jingli Luo, University of Alberta; Andrew Daugulis, Queen’s University; Milica Radisic, University of Toronto; Xueliang Sun, University of Western Ontario; Honghi Tran, University of Toronto and Ying Zheng, University of New Brunswick. Fellows of the academy are elected by their peers to recognize distinguished achievements and career-long service to the engineering profession.

John Vederas, FCIC, was named a Senior Fellow­ of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR). 

Congratulations to the undergraduate and graduate students who participated in the 99th Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition student competitions this past June in Halifax. The complete list of oral and poster competition award winners is available at 

Adango Miadonye, professor of petroleum engineering in the Department of Chemistry, was awarded the 2016 President’s Award for Excellence in Research at Cape Breton University.

Kathy Darvesh of Mount Saint Vincent University has been named the 2016 top chemistry educator at the post-secondary level by College Chemistry Canada (C3). The C3 Award in Chemical Education recognizes outstanding contributions to university/college-level chemical education in the areas of chemistry, biochemistry or chemical technology. The award was presented at the 43rd C3 Conference, held June 9-11 in Saskatoon.