Geoff Rayner-Canham, FCIC, of Memorial University and Tina Overton of the University of Hull, United Kingdom, authored the newly published Descriptive Inorganic Chemistry, 6th edition. The textbook includes a correlation of the contents with the Inorganic Chemistry Supplement 2012 of the American Chemical Society Guidelines Committee on Professional Training.

Federico Rosei was honoured with an E. W. R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship at the annual NSERC awards ceremony Feb. 3, celebrating Canada’s top researchers in the natural sciences and engineering. The Steacie Fellowships enhance Canadian­ university faculties’ career development.

This year’s winners of the annual Canadian National Committee for the International Union of Pure & Applied­ Chemistry (CNC-IUPAC) 2014 Travel Awards are: 

  • Belinda Heyne, Department of Chemistry, University­ of Calgary. 
  • Kagan Kerman, Department of Physical & Environmental Sciences­, University of Toronto at Scarborough. 
  • Jason Masuda, Department of Chemistry, Saint Mary’s University, Halifax.
  • Pavle Radovanovic, Department of Chemistry, University­ of Waterloo. 

The Society for Chemical Industry (SCI) Canada­, the business forum of the Chemical Institute of Canada, will honour the following award recipients at the April 3 Clean, Green and Sustainable Chemistry Seminar in Toronto. The awards recognize outstanding achievement in chemistry and the chemical industry.

  • Canada Medal: Richard Paton, Chemistry Industry Association of Canada.
  • Purvis Award: Robert Graham, Ensyn Corporation. 
  • LeSueur Memorial Award: Grant Allen, FCIC, University of Toronto.
  • International Award: Jean-Francois Huc, BioAmber­.
  • Kavel Pugi Award: Franco Berruti, Western Universit­y. 
  • Julia Levy Award: Gregory Penner, NeoVentures Biotechnology Inc.

The Canadian Light Source (CLS) national synchrotron at the University of Saskatchewan announced that Australian scientist Robert Lamb will be its new executive director effective Aug. 1. Lamb succeeds Josef­ Hormes. Lamb will also hold a tenured full professorship in the U of S Department of Chemistry.