Mark Lautens, FCIC, of the Department of Chemistry at the University of Toronto was named an Officerof the Order of Canada for his contributions to organic chemistry.

Christophe Guy of École Polytechnique de Montréal Department of Chemical Engineering, was named a Member of the Order of Canada in recognition of his accomplishments as a chemical engineering professor and researcher.

Peter Calamai of Ottawa was named a Member of the Order of Canada. The Canadian Chemical News “Policy Pundit” columnist, Calamai is a former science reporter for the Toronto Star and a journalism professor at the University of Carleton.

Chemistry professor Hanadi Sleiman of McGillUniversity is the 2016 winner of the annualIzatt- Christensen Award for Macrocyclic Chemistry, sponsored by IBC Advanced Technologies. Sleimanreceives the award at the 2016 InternationalSymposium on Macrocyclic and SupramolecularChemistry in Seoul, Korea.

Axel Becke, FCIC, of the Dalhousie University Department of Chemistry is the 2014 winner of the NSERC Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering. Becke receives a gold medal and $1 million over five years for research.

Lydia Chen, assistant professor in the Department of Chemistry at Brock University in St. Catharines, Ont., is the 2014 recipient of the Don Ursino Award for Excellence in Teaching Large Classes.

Mark MacLachlan has been awarded the 2014 NRC’s Steacie Prize in the natural sciences for outstandingresearch in the field of supramolecularinorganic chemistry.

This year’s winners of the CNC/IUPAC Travel Awards are: Jaclyn Brusso and Roberto Chicaof the University of Ottawa, Jean-François Massonof Université de Montréal and Dwight Seferos of the University of Toronto.