The 2019 edition of the Canadian Chemistry Contest (CCC) was held on Monday, April 15, 2019.  The contest was written by 633 Canadian students from across the country, in conjunction with the Canadian Chemistry Olympiad (CCO).  This year, ASDAN, a skills-based learning group specializing in international education, also offered this exam to approximately 850 students in China, through an agreement with CCO.

The CCC fosters an appreciation of chemistry as a career for talented young people and promotes national excellence in chemistry at the high school/Cégep level. The CCC is aimed at the top 10% of Canadian high school and Cégep students under 20 years of age taking chemistry. The CCO is aimed at the top 5% of these students. 

The CCC Team includes National Coordinator, Guillaume Bussière; National Examiner, Jennifer Pitt-Lainsbury; Regional and District Coordinators; Philip Sohn, CCO National Coordinator and his team and; Gale Thirlwall, CIC National Office support.  The Team has spent the year preparing the exam and coordinating with schools across the country.

Below is the list of 2019 Regional CCC Winners.  Sean Wang, Point Grey Secondary in Vancouver was named National Winner.

Next year’s competition takes place on Monday, April 6, 2020.  Information will be posted on the CIC website when available.

2019 Canadian Chemistry Contest Winners


Christopher Grant, First Place.
Cobequid Educational Centre, Truro, NS

Cassidy Barkhouse, Second Place
Cobequid Educational Centre, Truro, NS

Andrew Harris, Third Place
Gonzaga High School, St. John’s, NL


Sarah-Slim Diwan, First Place
Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf, Montréal, QC

Joshua Desrosiers, Second Place
John Abbott College, Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC

Haoran (Daniel) Yin, Third Place
Bishop’s College School, Sherbrooke, QC


Constance Wang, First Place
Victoria Park Collegiate Institute, North York, ON

Michael Du, Second Place
Richmond Hill High School, Richmond Hill, ON

Laura Nguyen, Third Place
The Woodlands Secondary School, Mississauga, ON

Manitoba / Saskatchewan / Nunavut

Ethan Axdal, First Place
Fort Richmond Collegiate, Winnipeg, MB

Jaehyeong Yang, Second Place
Kelvin High School, Winnipeg, MB

Mia Battad, Third Place
Balmoral Hall High School, Winnipeg, MB

Alberta / North West Territories

Qin Tong Wu, First Place
Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton, AB

Alex Dong, Second Place
Calgary Olympic Math & Computer School, Calgary, AB

Steven Tang, Third Place
Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton, AB

British Columbia / Yukon

Sean Wang, National Winner
Point Grey Secondary, Vancouver, BC

Leo Liu, Second Place 
Elgin Park Secondary School, Surrey, BC      

Soresu Juyo, Third Place
Yale Secondary School, Abbotsford, BC