CIC congratulates its members who were among those presented with major awards from NSERC on May 6, 2019 at a ceremony held at the Governor General’s residence.

Douglas Stephan, FCIC, a professor in the University of Toronto’s Department of Chemistry, received is the John C. Polanyi Award, which honours an individual or team whose Canadian-based research has led to a recent outstanding advance in the natural sciences or engineering.

Amar Mohanty, MCIC, a professor in both plant agriculture and engineering at University of Guelph, is a chemist on the team of four members that received an NSERC Synergy Award for Innovation, which recognizes examples of collaboration that represent effective partnerships between industry and colleges or universities.

A group of researchers from Queen’s University received the Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering, which recognizes outstanding interdisciplinary teams whose combined expertise produced a record of excellent achievements in the natural sciences and engineering in the last six years. The team included Pascale Champagne, MCIC (bioresources engineering) Michael Cunningham, FCIC (chemical engineering), Philip Jessop, MCIC (chemistry) and Warren Mabee (geography.

Up to six Steacie Fellowships are awarded annually to enhance the career development of outstanding and highly promising scientists and engineers who are faculty members of Canadian universities. This year three of these Fellows are CIC chemists: Erin Johnson, MCIC, Dalhousie University, Dwight Seferos, MCIC, University of Toronto and Hongbo Zeng, MCIC, University of Alberta.