Sponsored by Ryerson University, Department of Chemical Engineering

The Award in Design and Industrial Practice is presented for innovative design or production activities accomplished in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

Charles Xu

The 2019 winner of the Award in Design and Industrial Practice is:

Chunbao (Charles) Xu, FCIC
Western University

Charles Xu is an internationally recognized expert in the field of biorefining technologies (refining forestry/agricultural bio-resources into chemicals/materials). He has made significant contributions in this field, with 190+ peer-reviewed journal papers (receiving over 7000 total citations with an H-index of 45). In particular, Xu has made significant contributions to the Canadian industry, collaborating with over 20 companies, e.g., FPInnovations, Ontario Power Generation, Imperial Oil, Arclin Canada, Archer Daniels Midland, GreenField Ethanol, Newalta/Terrapure Environment, and Trojan Technologies, etc. He was the NSERC/FPInnovations Industrial Research Chair in Forest Biorefinery (2011-2016). His reputation and contributions to translating chemical engineering principles into design and industrial practice can be further witnessed by 20 invention disclosures, among which 10 were issued or filed for PCT/US/Can/Chinese patents, and 4 technologies have been licensed to industrial partners for commercialization and industrial practice. He created a start-up company (Western Maple Bio Resources Inc.) in 2016 with over $ 2 million investment from private and government sources. His contribution to the profession has been recognized nationally/internationally, receiving a number of awards including the Syncrude Canada Innovation Award, He is also a Fellow of Chemical Institute of Canada and Canadian Academy of Engineering.

Past Winners


Ying Zheng, FCIC

Western University
Society: CSChE

David Beckman

Zeton Inc.
Society: CSChE

Biao Huang, FCIC

University of Alberta
Society: CSChE

Ajay Dalai, FCIC

University of Saskatchewan
Society: CSChE

Kelly Hawboldt

Memorial University of Newfoundland
Society: CSChE