Sponsored by the Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering

The R.S. Jane Memorial Award is presented to a person, who, while residing in Canada has made an exceptional achievement to the field of chemical engineering or industrial chemistry.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2019 winner of the R. S. Jane Memorial Award is:

Levente L. Diosady, FCIC
University of Toronto

Levente L. Diosady is professor of food engineering, Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry, Toronto. His current research interests include oilseed processing, membrane processes, and micronutrient fortification of food. He is the author of 150+ refereed publications, 17 patents. He supervised 100+ graduate students. 17 of his students and PDF’s are professors on four continents.

He is a Fellow of the Chemical Institute of Canada, the Canadian Institute of Food Science and Technology, the American Oil Chemists Society, International Academy of Food Science and Technology, The Hungarian and  the Canadian Academies of Engineering and the Royal Society of Canada. He received the Officers’ Cross of the Hungarian Order of Merit, the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal, and is a member of the Order of Ontario, the province’s highest civilian honour. He is an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Past Winners


Jamal Chaouki

Polytechnique Montréal
Society: CSChE

Sirish L. Shah, FCIC

University of Alberta
Society: CSChE

Shiping Zhu, FCIC

McMaster University
Society: CSChE

James M. Piret, FCIC

University of British Columbia
Society: CSChE

David P. Wilkinson, FCIC

University of British Columbia
Society: CSChE

Jesse Zhu, FCIC

Western University
Society: CSChE