Sponsored by Hatch

The Hatch Innovation Award is presented to an individual, who has not reached the age of 40, for a distinguished contribution to the field of chemical engineering while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

Pedram Fatehi

The 2019 winner of the Hatch Innovation Award is:

Pedram Fatehi, MCIC
Lakehead University

Pedram Fatehi is an associate professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering at Lakehead University, and distinguished professor at Qilu University of Technology in China. A graduate of the Asian Institute of Technology and the University of New Brunswick, he is currently a Canada Research Chair (Tier II) and Industrial Research Chair in Green Chemicals and Processes. Since joining Lakehead University in 2011, Fatehi has successfully established the Green Processes Research Centre, developing an innovative, multidisciplinary research program in chemical engineering, chemistry, environmental engineering, biotechnology and forestry. His wide range of research contributions encompass many aspects of forest biorefinery, biomass conversion, polymer modification, colloid and surface/interface chemistry and wet-end applications of polymers and reagents in papermaking. He is currently collaborating with companies regionally and nationally. He is developing new processes based on his patent pending technologies (6) in collaboration with Resolute Forest Product and FPInnovations.

Fatehi’s research has been published in more than 155 articles in academic journals. His research excellence has been recognized with many awards, such as, the Emerging leader in Chemical Engineering in 2018, RBC Innovation Award in 2016, and the Ontario Centre of Excellence Early Researcher Award in 2014. He has also secured more than $ 7 M in research funds and supervised more than 40 graduate students.

Past Winners


Hongbo Zeng

University of Alberta
Society: CSChE

Alison McGuigan

University of Toronto
Society: CSChE

Nathalie Tufenkji

McGill University
Society: CSChE

Milica Radisic

University of Toronto
Society: CSChE

Krishna Mahadevan

University of Toronto
Society: CSChE

Santiago Faucher

Hatch Ltd. and McMaster University
Society: CSChE