Sponsored by: Canadian Journal of Chemistry and Canadian Science Publishing (CSP)

The Canadian Journal of Chemistry Best Paper Award recognizes the “best paper” published in the volume year of the Canadian Journal of Chemistry (CJC) by a scientist residing in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

Mita Dasog

Dalhousie University Canadian Journal of Chemistry Best Paper Award 2019

For her paper: “Systematic evaluation of inorganic salts as a heat sink for the magnesiothermic reduction of silica” published in Can. J. Chem., 2018, 96(11), 965-968, Logesh Khanna, Yiqi Lai and Mita Dasog.

Mita Dasog obtained her BSc in 2009 from the University of Saskatchewan. She then moved to the University of Alberta to begin her PhD studies with Jonathan Veinot where she focused on the syntheses, properties, and applications of silicon quantum dots. After a short stay at the Technical University of Munich as a Green Talents visiting scholar, Dr. Dasog went on to hold an NSERC postdoctoral position with Nathan Lewis at the California Institute of Technology, where she studied light-material interactions. She joined the Dalhousie University Department of Chemistry in July 2016 as an assistant professor. Her independent research work focuses on the solid-state synthesis of nanomaterials for solar fuels generation, waste remediation, and plasmonic applications.

Past Winners


Krysztof Starosta

Simon Fraser University
Society: CSC

James W. Gauld

University of Windsor
Society: CSC

Kevin Thurbide

University of Calgary
Society: CSC

Adrian Schwan

University of Guelph
Society: CSC