Sponsored by Sciex


The W.A.E. McBryde Medal is presented to a young scientist working in Canada who has made a significant achievement in pure or applied analytical chemistry.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2020 winner of the W.A.E. McBryde Medal is:

Alexandre G. Brolo, MCIC
University of Victoria

Alexandre G. Brolo is a Professor in the Department of Chemistry at UVic and the Director of the Center for Advanced Materials and Related Technologies (CAMTEC). He obtained his B. Sc. and M.Sc. from the University of Sao Paulo in Brazil and his Ph.D. from the University of Waterloo. He then developed a joint postdoctoral work involving Waterloo and Western.  Brolo is well-known in the area of plasmonic nanomaterials, particularly on their applications in biosensors, surface-enhanced spectroscopy and single-molecule detection. He has an extensive network of national, international and industrial collaborators, including researchers from universities in Brazil, China, Germany and the USA.

Past Winners


Jean-François Masson

Université de Montréal
Society: CSC

Juewen Liu

University of Waterloo
Society: CSC

Zhifeng Ding

Western University
Society: CSC

Aicheng Chen

Lakehead University
Society: CSC

Hua-Zhong (Hogan) Yu

Simon Fraser University
Society: CSC

Lars Konermann

Western University
Society: CSC

Aaron Wheeler

University of Toronto
Society: CSC