Sponsored by the CSC Physical, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry Division

This award recognizes outstanding early-career contributions to physical chemistry, for research carried out in Canada, by a scientist residing in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2019 winner of the Keith Laidler Award is:

Pavle Radovanovic
University of Waterloo

Pavle Radovanovic received his BSc equivalent degree in chemistry from the University of Novi Sad, Serbia, and an MSc degree from Georgetown University. He subsequently obtained his PhD degree from the University of Washington, Seattle in 2004. Following his graduate studies, he was a postdoctoral fellow at Harvard University. He started his independent career at the University of Waterloo in 2006, rising to the rank of full professor in 2017. At the University of Waterloo he embarked on a new research program focusing on the design, physical and chemical properties, and possible applications of multifunctional low-dimensional inorganic and hybrid materials. His research combines a range of complex spectroscopic measurements, structural characterization, and theoretical simulations to formulate quantitative models of structure-function and function-function correlations. This research aims to elucidate fundamental principles governing the coexistence of and interactions between different degrees of freedom, leading to possible applications in lighting, photocatalysis, and quantum technologies. His work has been recognized by a number of honours and awards, including Canada Research Chair, Early Researcher Award (Ontario Ministry of Research and Innovation), Mobility Award (French Ministry of Foreign Affairs), and CNC-IUPAC Award. He was a visiting professor at the University of California-Berkeley.

Past Winners


Dennis Hore

University of Victoria
Society: CSC

Viktor N. Staroverov

Western University
Society: CSC

Venkataraman Thangadurai

University of Calgary
Society: CSC

Gonzalo Cosa

McGill University
Society: CSC

David Bryce

University of Ottawa
Society: CSC

Roman Krems

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC