Sponsored by the University of Ottawa and the CSC Organic Chemistry Division

University of Ottawa

The Keith Fagnou Award is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to organic chemistry while working in Canada. Eligible candidates must have received their Ph.D. no more than 12 years prior at the time of initial nomination.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2019 winner of the Keith Fagnou Award is:

Jean-Philip Lumb
McGill University

Jean-Philip Lumb obtained his BA from Cornell University in 2002, where he was introduced to research by Bruce Ganem and Geoff Coates. In 2003, he moved to the University of California, Berkeley to pursue a PhD with Dirk Trauner. As a graduate student, he focused on the biomimetic synthesis of complex natural products that relied on multi-step cascade reactions triggered by oxidation. From 2008–2011 he was a postdoctoral fellow at Stanford University, working under the direction of Barry M. Trost. As a postdoctoral fellow, he developed an atom economic synthesis of pyrroles using palladium catalysis, and an asymmetric coupling of alkynes using palladium and copper-hydride co-catalysis. He also developed a synthetic program towards the tricholomenyns and the complex macrolide amphidinolide N. Lumb’s training encompasses the themes of bioinspired synthesis and catalysis, which form the corner stones of his independent research career. In 2011, he began an appointment as assistant professor in the Department of Chemistry at McGill University. He was awarded tenure and promoted to the rank of associate professor in 2017, and in 2018, was awarded a Fessenden Professorship by McGill’s Faculty of Science.

Past Winners


Sylvain Canesi

Université du Québec à Montréal
Society: CSC

Mark Taylor

University of Toronto
Society: CSC

Jean-François Paquin

Université Laval
Society: CSC

Derek Pratt

University of Ottawa
Society: CSC