Sponsored by the Canadian Council of University Chemistry Chairs (CCUCC)

The Clara Benson Award is presented to recognize a woman who has made a distinguished contribution to chemistry while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2019 winner of the Clara Benson Award is:

Diane Beauchemin
Queen’s University

Diane Beauchemin obtained BSc and PhD .degrees from l’Université de Montréal in 1980 and 1984 respectively. She worked as a research associate at the National Research Council of Canada on the first commercial ICPMS (inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry) instrument that was installed in Canada. In 1988, she moved to Queen’s University as an assistant professor and progressed through the ranks to become full professor in 2001; Her research focuses on the fundamentals and applications of ICP spectrometry (both optical emission and MS); Fundamental work aims at overcoming the remaining limitations of these techniques, which is so important for analytical service laboratories that it has led to several collaborative research and development projects with industry; The application work on the development of new forensic analysis techniques resulted in an ongoing collaboration with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police; Other application work includes the risk assessment of food safety as well as the single particle ICPMS measurement of nanoparticles of catalysts used in fuel cells; Beauchemin received the 2017 Maxxam Award and the 2018 Gerhard Herzberg Award from the Canadian Society for Analytical Sciences and Spectroscopy in recognition of some of this work.

Past Winners


Brigitte Guérin

Université de Sherbrooke
Society: CSC

Ann English, FCIC

Concordia University
Society: CSC

Yunjie Xu

University of Alberta
Society: CSC

Laurel Schafer

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC

Hélène Lebel

Université de Montréal
Society: CSC

Jillian M. Buriak

University of Alberta
Society: CSC