Sponsored by Dima Technology Inc.

Dima Technology Inc

The Environment Division R&D Dima Award is presented for distinguished contributions to research and/or development in the fields of environmental chemistry or environmental chemical engineering, while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2020 winner of the Environment Division Research and Development Dima Award is:

Nathalie Tufenkji, MCIC
McGill University

Nathalie Tufenkji is a Tier I Canada Research Chair in Biocolloids and Surfaces in the Department of Chemical Engineering at McGill University. She leads a team working to solve problems linked with plastic pollution, the sustainable development of safer nanotechnology, and the spread of disease-causing bacteria. Tufenkji’s contributions have been recognized with several honours and awards including election to the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists of the Royal Society of Canada, the Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering Hatch Innovation Award, and the YWCA Woman of Distinction Award in Science and Technology. Her team’s discoveries have drawn the attention of more than 120 international media outlets including The Wall Street Journal, CBC Marketplace, Le Monde, Times of India, and South China Morning Post.

Beyond her research and teaching roles, Professor Tufenkji also serves as Associate Director of the Brace Center for Water Resources Management at McGill and she has co-organized several major international conferences. She serves on the editorial advisory boards of Environmental Science and Technology, npj Clean Water, Colloids and Surfaces B, Advances in Colloid and Interface Science, and Environmental Science: Nano. Tufenkji also previously served as Treasurer of the Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering (CSChE).

Past Winners


Parisa Angéline Ariya

McGill University
Society: CIC

Kevin Wilkinson

Université de Montréal
Society: CIC

Xing-Fang Li, FCIC

University of Alberta
Society: CIC

Allan Bertram

University of British Columbia
Society: CIC

Frank Wania

University of Toronto
Society: CIC

William R. Cullen, FCIC

University of British Columbia
Society: CIC

Janusz Pawliszyn, FCIC

University of Waterloo
Society: CIC