Federico Rosei

Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique (INRS), Université du Québec

Federico Rosei has held the Canada Research Chair in Nanostructured Organic and Inorganic Materials since 2003. He is professor and director of Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique, Énergie, Matériaux et Télécommunications, Université du Québec, Varennes, Que. He holds the UNESCO chair in Materials and Technologies for Energy Conversion, Saving and Storage. He received MSc and PhD degrees from the University of Rome “La Sapienza”.

Rosei’s research interests focus on the properties of nanostructured materials, and on how to control their size, shape, composition, stability and positioning when grown on suitable substrates. He has extensive experience in fabricating, processing and characterizing inorganic, organic and biocompatible nanomaterials. He has published over 210 articles in prestigious international journals, has been invited to speak at over 210 international conferences and has given over 170 seminars and colloquia and 20 public lectures in 42 countries on all inhabited continents. His publications have been cited over 6,200 times and his H index is 42.

In 2014, he was elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. He is Member of the European Academy of Sciences, Fellow of the American Physical Society, Honorary Fellow of the Chinese Chemical Society, Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, SPIE, the Canadian Academy of Engineering, ASM International, the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK), the Institute of Physics, the Institution of Engineering and Technology, the Institute of Materials, Metallurgy and Mining, and the Institute of Nanotechnology, Senior Member of the IEEE, Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada, Member of the Global Young Academy, Fellow of the Australian Institute of Physics and Member of the Sigma Xi Society.

He has received several awards and honours, including the FQRNT Strategic Professorship, the Tan Chin Tuan visiting Fellowship, the Senior Gledden Visiting Fellowship, professor at large at UWA, a Marie Curie Post-Doctoral Fellowship from the European Union, a Canada Research Chair, a Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Award from the Alexander von Humboldt foundation, the Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry (Royal Society of Canada, the Herzberg Medal (Canadian Association of Physics, the Brian Ives lectureship award (ASM international / Canada Council, the Award for Excellence in Materials Chemistry (Canadian Society for Chemistry, the NSERC EWR Steacie Memorial Fellowship, the José Vasconcelos Award for Education (World Cultural Council, the IEEE NTC Distinguished Lectureship, the Lash Miller Award (Canada Section, Electrochemical Society, the Chang Jiang Scholar Award (Government of China), the Khwarizmi International Award (2nd Laureate) from the Iran Research Organization for Science and Technology (IROST), the Recognition for Excellence in Leadership from the American Vacuum Society, the Selby Fellowship from the Australian Academy of Sciences and the CSC John C. Polanyi Award.