Sponsored by X-Chem 


The X-Chem Research Excellence Award (formerly the IntelliSyn Pharma Research Excellence Award and the Boehringer Ingelheim Research Excellence Award) is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to medicinally relevant organic or biophysical chemistry while working in Canada. Eligible candidates must have held their first professional appointment as an independent researcher for twelve years* or less at the time of initial nomination.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2023 winner of the X-Chem Research Excellence Award is:

Jean-Philip Lumb, MCIC
McGill University
Twitter logo

Jean-Philip Lumb is an Associate Professor of Chemistry at McGill University in Canada. His group is generally interested in oxidation chemistry, and combines the themes of biomimicry and catalysis to address issues of sustainability in the production of functional organic molecules. The Lumb Group’s primary interests include the biosynthesis of melanin, tyrosinase-inspired aerobic copper catalysis, the total synthesis of natural products, and the mechanochemical activation of metals. The group also has an interest in the use of silicon in pharmaceutical research, with a particular emphasis on the development of tracers for positron emission tomography (PET). Professor Lumb obtained his B.A. from Cornell University in 2002. He then received his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley in 2008 working with Dirk Trauner, before completing a postdoctoral fellowship at Stanford University with Barry Trost. He began his independent career at McGill University in 2011, and received tenure in 2017.


Past Winners


Ratmir Derda

University of Alberta
Society: CSC

Mark Taylor, MCIC

University of Toronto
Society: CSC

Roger G. Linington

Simon Fraser University
Society: CSC

Christopher Boddy

University of Ottawa
Society: CSC

Jennifer Love

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC

Fraser Hof

University of Victoria
Society: CSC

Robert A. Britton

Simon Fraser University
Society: CSC