Sponsored by Gilead Alberta ULC


The R. U. Lemieux Award is presented to an organic chemist who has made a distinguished contribution to any area of organic chemistry and who is currently working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2024 winner of the R. U. Lemieux Award is:

Shawn Collins, MCIC
Université de Montréal

Shawn K. Collins was born in 1974 and raised in Val d’Or, Québec. He obtained a B.Sc. (Honours) degree from Concordia University in 1996 while working with Professor Ossie S. Tee. He completed his doctoral dissertation in 2001 on the synthesis, preparation and application of acetylenic cyclophanes with Professor Alex G. Fallis at the University of Ottawa. After an NSERC postdoctoral fellowship with Professor Larry E. Overman (University of California, Irvine) pursuing the total synthesis of polycyclic guanidinium alkaloids, he joined the faculty at Université de Montréal in September 2003 as an Assistant Professor. He was promoted to the rank of Associate Professor in 2009 and to Full Professor in 2015. Professor Collins’s research group is interested in the development of novel synthetic methods, particularly involving catalysis, photochemistry and continuous flow methods.


Past Winners


P. Andrew Evans

Queen's University
Society: CSC

Andrew J. Bennet, FCIC

Simon Fraser University
Society: CSC

Dennis G. Hall, FCIC

University of Alberta
Society: CSC

Masad J. Damha, FCIC

McGill University
Society: CSC

Andrei K. Yudin

University of Toronto
Society: CSC

Hanadi Sleiman

McGill University
Society: CSC

Cathleen M. Crudden, FCIC

Queen's University
Society: CSC

Michael Organ

University of Ottawa
Society: CSC

Chao-Jun Li

McGill University
Society: CSC

Tomas Hudlicky

Brock University
Society: CSC

Marco Ciufolini

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC