R. U. Lemieux Award

Sponsored by Gilead Alberta ULC the R.U. Lemieux Award is presented to an organic chemist who has made a distinguished contribution to any area of organic chemistry and who is currently working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2017 winner of the R. U. Lemieux Award is:

Cathleen M. Crudden, FCIC
Queen's University

Cathleen Crudden, FCIC, obtained her B.Sc. and M.Sc. from the University of Toronto, and PhD at the University of Ottawa, part of which was carried out at Osaka University in Japan. Crudden began as an assistant professor at University of New Brunswick in 1996 and was granted tenure in 2000.  She took up the position of Queen’s National Scholar at Queen’s University.  In her first year at Queen’s, Crudden was awarded a Premier’s Research and Excellence Award and a Chancellor’s Research Award.  She was awarded one of only 8 NSERC Accelerator Awards given in all areas of Chemistry in Canada, a Catalysis Society Lecture Award and is P.I. on a $1.6 million CREATE grant.  She has been awarded visiting research professorships in Spain and Japan at Nagoya and Kyoto Universities, respectively.  She is a Fellow of the CIC.

Crudden served on the CSC Board of Directors as the director for the Catalysis, Surface Science and Protective Coatings Divisions and in 2012 as CSC president.  She has also served on the Editorial Board for ACCN.  She served as a member of the Editorial Board for the Canadian Journal of Chemistry and Chemical Record, a journal of the Japan Chemical Journal Forum.  Crudden was one of four Canadian representatives on the organizing committee for the 2010 and 2015 Pacifichem congress.   

Past Winners

Michael Organ
University of Ottawa

Chao-Jun Li, McGill University
Presented by Zhongxin Zhou, Director R&D, Gilead Alberta (right)

Tomas Hudlicky
Brock University

Marco Ciufolini
University of British Columbia