The Canadian Journal of Chemical Engineering Lectureship Award

The Canadian Journal of Chemical Engineering Lectureship Award is awarded to a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant who has made an outstanding contribution to chemical engineering, demonstrating exceptional promise, while working in Canada. Eligible candidates must have held their first professional appointment as an independent researcher in academia, government, or industry for seven years or less at the time of nomination submission.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2017 winner of the The Canadian Journal of Chemical Engineering Lectureship Award is:

Alison McGuigan
University of Toronto

Alison McGuigan is the Erwin Edward Hart Professor of chemical engineering and an associate professor in chemical engineering and applied chemistry at the Institute for Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, University of Toronto. She obtained her undergraduate degree in materials science from University of Oxford, her PhD in chemical engineering from University of Toronto and completed post-docs at Harvard University and Stanford School of Medicine. McGuigan’s research is focused on engineering in vitro tissue platforms that can generate physiologically relevant and high value data for understanding fundamental tissue biology and identification of novel therapeutics. She has published >65 papers, patents and abstracts in top journals such as Nature Materials, PNAS, and Biomaterials. In recognition of her work McGuigan has received numerous awards including a Canadian Rhodes Scholarship, the Wake Forest Institute of Regenerative Medicine Young Investigator Award, and the Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine International Society (TERMIS-AM) Young Investigator award. McGuigan has also been recognized for her contributions to HQP training including the Alan Blizzard Award for excellence in collaborative university teaching and learning for her work with the Institute for Leadership Education in Engineering (iLEAD).

Past Winners

Hongbo Zeng, University of Alberta
With João Soares, Can. J. Chem. Eng. Editor-in-Chief (Right)