

Canadian Society for Chemistry | *For Our Future* Société canadienne de chimie | *Pour notre avenir*

Norman and Marion Bright Memorial Award

The award shall be presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution in Canada to the furtherance of chemical technology. The person so honoured may be either a chemical sciences technologist, or a person from outside the field who has made a significant and noteworthy contribution to its advancement.

This award was established by the Canadian Society for Chemical Technology (CSCT) to commemorate the devotion of Norman and Marion Bright to the Chemical Institute of Canada, culminating in Norman's service as Treasurer from 1967–1970, and Marion's as Manager of Membership Services from 1970–1974.

In January 2022, the Canadian Society for Chemical Technology (CSCT) merged with the Canadian Society for Chemistry (CSC). The <u>new TT division</u> is a place for former CSCT members to maintain and grow the community of chemical technologists and technicians.

Deadline

August 1 of every year

Sponsor

CIC Chemical Education Fund

Award

- A framed scroll
- An honorarium of \$500

Nomination Requirements

A nomination package must be submitted electronically through <u>Award Force</u>. The package should include the following:

- **Biographical Sketch** A detailed outline of the contribution of the nominee to the advancement of chemical technology, and the reasons why the Award is merited. Technical scientific achievement need not be the only consideration in the assessment of a nominee.
- Curriculum Vitae (maximum nine pages).
- Supporting Letters (1 or more)

Eligibility

Membership in the CIC is not a prerequisite for this award.

If the nominee has previously received awards by the CSC and/or CIC, the nominator has to differentiate the current achievements from those that have been previously recognized.

All nominations will remain in force for three years. Nominators are responsible for keeping the record of the nominee up to date and complete.

Selection Committee

- Technologists & Technicians Chair as non-voting Chair
- Up to three additional members as appointed by the Technologists & Technicians Division

An award may not be given in a particular year.