

Canadian Light Source T. K. Sham Award in Materials Chemistry

This award is presented to an individual who has made a distinguished contribution to materials chemistry both in terms of research and mentoring while working in Canada.

Deadline

August 1 of every year

Sponsors

Canadian Light Source Inc., CIC Materials Chemistry Division, and Department of Chemistry, Western University

Award

- A framed scroll
- An award lecture in the Materials Chemistry Division Award Symposium at the Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition, and a lecture tour at two or more Canadian universities that are not in major centers, whose students normally do not travel to CSC meetings.
- Major travel costs for the award tour, to a maximum of \$1,500, will be supported upon application to the Materials Chemistry Division Treasurer; host institutions are expected to cover local costs (taxis, accommodation, and meals)

Nomination Requirements

A nomination package must be submitted electronically through <u>Awards Force</u>. The package should include the following:

- Citation (250 word maximum) statement of why the candidate should receive the award. This is the key document in the nomination and this information should be relevant to the achievements for which the award is being offered.
- **Biographical Sketch** (maximum one page) This provides background information on the nominee and summarizes past accomplishments. This is a summary of information obtained from a C.V.
- Curriculum Vitae (maximum nine pages).
- Supporting Letters (3 to 5) At least two letters must be from outside the nominee's organization.

Eligibility

Membership in the CIC is not a prerequisite for this award.

If the nominee has previously received awards by the CSC and/or CIC, the nominator has to differentiate the current achievements from those that have been previously recognized.

All nominations will remain in force for three years. Nominators are responsible for keeping the record of the nominee up to date and complete.

Selection Committee

- CSC Director of Awards as non-voting Chair
- Chair of the Materials Chemistry Division
- Vice-Chair of the Materials Chemistry Division
- Past winner of the TK Sham Materials Chemistry Award

An award may not be given in a particular year.