Chemical Institute of Canada

Fellowship Committee Terms of Reference

Approved by CIC Board: March 2022

Membership:

The Committee consists of at least four CIC Fellows appointed by the CIC Board of Directors. The CIC Executive Director is an ex-officio, non-voting member.

Committee members will represent a diversity of experience and breadth of expertise that reflect the constituent societies of the CIC and its Fellows.

The Committee will elect a Chair from its members, subject to approval by the CIC Board of Directors.

Committee members will normally serve for a 3-year term, renewable no more than once. Terms will be staggered to ensure continuity of membership. The Chair of the Committee will normally serve for a 2-year term, renewable no more than once. The maximum tenure of any member on the Committee, including as Chair, is six years.

Meetings:

The Committee shall meet at least once a year, after the Fellowship nomination deadline.

Responsibilities:

The Committee will review the submitted Fellowship nomination packages and assess the submissions in accordance with the <u>Terms of Reference / Guidelines</u> <u>document</u> posted on the CIC website.

The Committee will submit recommendations for new Fellows to the CIC Board of Directors for approval. The total number of current and new Fellows will be limited to 10% of the total regular membership of the Chemical Institute of Canada. The Chair of the CIC Board of Directors will communicate the Board decision to the approved new Fellows and the Nominator of each.

The Chair of the FCIC Committee will communicate with the Nominator concerning submissions not recommended to the CIC Board.

The Committee will review the <u>Terms of Reference</u> for the FCIC Committee and provide recommendations for changes to the CIC Board of Directors for approval.

The Committee will identify and nominate new members to replace members completing their terms and provide renewal recommendations to the CIC Board of Directors for approval.

Committee Membership (current and last 6 years)

2022

Deryn Fogg, FCIC, University of Ottawa, Chair of the Committee David Schwass, FCIC, Schwass & Associates Donna Jean Kilpatrick, FCIC, Fisheries and Oceans Canada Paul Amyotte, FCIC, Dalhousie University Josephine Tsang, MCIC, Executive Director

2021

Andrew Hrymak, FCIC, Western University, Chair of the Committee Deryn Fogg, FCIC, University of Ottawa David Schwass, FCIC, Novachem Donna Jean Kilpatrick, FCIC, Government of Canada Paul Smith, MCIC, CIC Acting Executive Director

2020

Andrew Hrymak, FCIC, Western University, Chair of the Committee Deryn Fogg, FCIC, University of Ottawa David Schwass, FCIC, Novachem Ian Jobe, MCIC, CIC Executive Director

2019

Gerry Phillips, FCIC, GC Phillips Consulting Ltd., Chair of the Committee Andrew Hrymak, FCIC, Western University Ray Poirier, FCIC, Memorial University Deryn Fogg, FCIC, University of Ottawa Ian Jobe, MCIC, CIC Executive Director

2018

Gerry Phillips, FCIC, GC Phillips Consulting Ltd., Chair of the Committee Andrew Hrymak, FCIC, Western University Ray Poirier, FCIC, Memorial University Deryn Fogg, FCIC, University of Ottawa Ian Jobe, MCIC, CIC Executive Director

2017

Gerry Phillips, FCIC, GC Phillips Consulting Ltd., Chair of the Committee Andrew Hrymak, FCIC, Western University Ray Poirier, FCIC, Memorial University Roland Andersson, MCIC, CIC Executive Director

2016

Gerry Phillips, FCIC, GC Phillips Consulting Ltd., Chair of the Committee Andrew Hrymak, FCIC, Western University Ray Poirier, FCIC, Memorial University Roland Andersson, MCIC, CIC Executive Director