The Process Safety Management Award is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution in Canada to process safety and loss management (PSLM).

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2019 winner of the Process Safety Management Award is:

Marcello Oliviero, MCIC
Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc.

Marcello Oliverio is a process safety technical specialist with Enbridge Gas Distribution and is leading the implementation of PSM within the organization. He is recognized nationally as a subject matter expert on risk assessment, risk management and process safety management. He began performing PHAs and QRAs in his first position, and the work expanded to include HAZOPs and HAZIDs and dispersion modelling. He worked with Ontario Power Generation (Ontario Hydro) on issues such as management of nuclear safety systems, radiological dose assessment, and human reliability modelling. He became a manager of process risk assessment with AMEC-NSS, working on projects in the nuclear, chemical, petrochemical, transportation and mining sectors. He became the Chief Engineer with Superior Propane and guided them through the change in regulations following the Sunrise Propane incident.

Oliverio received a BASc degree in chemical engineering in 1982, and an MASc degree in 1986, both from the University of Toronto. He is a registered professional engineering in the Province of Ontario.

He has been actively involved with the CSChE Process Safety Management Division for many years, chairing the division from 2013-2015.

Past Winners


Michael Reid McPhail

Canadian Natural Resources Limited (CNRL)
Society: CSChE

Paul Amyotte, FCIC

Dalhousie University
Society: CSChE

Richard Piette

Suncor Energy Inc.
Society: CSChE

David Guss

Society: CSChE

Faisal Khan

Memorial University of Newfoundland
Society: CSChE

Graeme Norval, FCIC

University of Toronto
Society: CSChE