Sponsored by Software for Chemistry & Material B.V.

SCM Software for Chemistry & Materials

The TomZiegler Award is presented in honour of Prof. Tom Ziegler (1945-2015) to a scientist residing in Canada who has made an outstanding early-career contribution to theoretical and/or computational chemistry.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2019 winner of the Tom Ziegler Award is:

Artur Izmaylov
University of Toronto

Artur Izmaylov is an associate professor at the Departments of Chemistry and Physical and Environmental Sciences of the University of Toronto. He received his PhD from Rice University in 2009 and worked as a postdoctoral fellow at Yale University and Gaussian Inc. In 2012 he started his independent career at the University of Toronto. The main efforts of his group were directed toward understanding geometric phase effects in dynamics near conical intersections and developing simulation techniques for quantum molecular dynamics involving multiple electronic states. Recently, he became interested in quantum computing and specifically in solving the electronic structure problem using a quantum computer. He is a recipient of the Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship (2015) and the Ontario Early Researcher Award (2017). 

Past Winners


Erin Johnson

Dalhousie University
Society: CSC

Marcel Nooijen

University of Waterloo
Society: CSC

Tom Woo

University of Ottawa
Society: CSC