Sponsored by Rio Tinto


The Rio Tinto Award is presented to a scientist who has made a distinguished contribution to the fields of inorganic chemistry or electrochemistry while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2020 winner of the Rio Tinto Award is:

Deryn E. Fogg, FCIC
University of Ottawa

Deryn Fogg is Full Professor and University Research Chair at the University of Ottawa, and Professor II at the University of Bergen, Norway. After Ph.D. studies at UBC (Brian James) and postdoctoral research at MIT (Dick Schrock), she took up a faculty position at Ottawa in 1997. A major focus of her research is the interplay between mechanism, implementation, and catalyst design in olefin metathesis and tandem catalysis, and the deployment of new tools for insight in catalysis.

She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (2014), the Royal Society of Chemistry (2013), and the CIC (2009), and was a Visiting Fellow of Magdalen College, Oxford (2015). Other honours include Ontario’s Polanyi Prize in Chemistry, an NSERC Accelerator award, and the Strem Award for Pure or Applied Inorganic Chemistry. She is Permanent Secretary of the International Symposium on Homogeneous Catalysis (ISHC), a former Associate Editor of the leading American Chemical Society journal Organometallics, and serves on the Advisory Boards of the International Symposium on Olefin Metathesis (ISOM) and the International Conference on Organometallic Chemistry (ICOMC). From 2000-2009, she chaired “Bacon & Eggheads”, a breakfast lecture series for Canadian Parliamentarians that presents leading Canadian research with important implications for federal decision-makers.

Past Winners


George Shimizu

University of Calgary
Society: CSC

Jillian Buriak

University of Alberta
Society: CSC

Heinz-Bernhard Kraatz

University of Toronto at Scarborough
Society: CSC

Michael Wolf, FCIC

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC

Steven Holdcroft

Simon Fraser University
Society: CSC

Martin Stillman, FCIC

Western University
Society: CSC

Pierre Harvey, FCIC

Université de Sherbrooke
Society: CSC