Sponsored by IntelliSyn RD


The IntelliSyn Pharma Research Excellence Award (formerly the Boehringer Ingelheim Research Excellence Award) is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to medicinally relevant organic or biophysical chemistry while working in Canada. Eligible candidates must have held their first professional appointment as an independent researcher for twelve years* or less at the time of initial nomination.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2019 winner of the IntelliSyn Pharma Research Excellence Award is:

Christopher Boddy
University of Ottawa

Christopher Boddy received a BSc from the University of Alberta in 1995 and a PhD at The Scripps Research Institute in 2001 under the direction of K. C. Nicolaou. He was a post-doctoral Fellow at Stanford University working with Chaitan Khosla from 2001– 2004. In 2004 he joined the Department of Chemistry at Syracuse University and in 2008, he moved to the University of Ottawa, Department of Chemistry and Biomolecular Sciences where he is currently a full professor and director of the undergraduate biochemistry program. His research program focuses on the chemistry, biosynthesis, and pharmacology of natural products and bioactive compounds. More information about Boddy’s research program can be found at http:// www.boddylab.ca.

Past Winners


Jennifer Love

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC

Fraser Hof

University of Victoria
Society: CSC

Robert A. Britton

Simon Fraser University
Society: CSC