Sponsored by the CSC Biological/Medicinal Chemistry Division, Organic Chemistry Division

The Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Lectureship Award (formerly the Teva Canada Limited Biological and Medicinal Chemistry (BMC) Lectureship Award) is presented to a scientist who has made a distinguished contribution to the field of biological or medicinal chemistry within the past five years of the initial nomination deadline date while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2019 winner of the Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Lectureship Award is:

Robert Britton
Simon Fraser University

Robert Britton obtained his BSc from the University of Waterloo in 1996 working with Professor Victor Snieckus, and his PhD in natural product isolation, structural elucidation, and total synthesis from the University of British Columbia in 2002 with Edward Piers and Raymond Anderson. He spent two years at the University of Cambridge with Ian Paterson as an NSERC PDF then joined the Process Research Group at Merck as a senior scientist. In 2005, he started an independent academic career at Simon Fraser University and was promoted to professor in 2015. He is a Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research Career Scholar and has been awarded the Intellisyn Pharma Research Excellence Award, F. Hoffmann-La Roche Visiting Scholar Award, Boehringer Ingelheim Young Investigator Award, and Merck Research Laboratories Award for Scientific Excellence. Britton has broad research interests that include insect communication, natural product chemistry, medicinal chemistry and radiotracer development. Research in these areas have led to commercial traps for bed bugs and other crop pests, 18F-labelled amino acids and peptides for PET imaging in oncology, new tools for late-stage modification of drug leads, and new strategies for synthesizing structurally complex natural products. 

Past Winners


William D. Lubell, FCIC

Université de Montréal
Society: CSC

John Paul Pezacki

University of Ottawa
Society: CSC

Robert Campbell

University of Alberta
Society: CSC

David M. Perrin

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC

David Vocadlo

Simon Fraser University
Society: CSC

Andrew Woolley

University of Toronto
Society: CSC