Formerly the Maxxam Award

Sponsored by the University of Windsor

University of Windsor

The Ricardo Aroca Award is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to the field of analytical chemistry while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2019 winner of the Ricardo Aroca Award is:

John Headley
Environment and Climate Change Canada

John Headley graduated from the Department of Chemistry of the University of Warwick, Coventry, UK, where he received both his BSc in 1978 and PhD in 1981. He then was a postdoctoral fellow with the late Alex Harrison, the University of Toronto Department of Chemistry. He has held professional positions in the Alberta Environmental Center, Vegreville AB and Chemex Labs Alberta Inc., Calgary. Since 1991, he has worked as a senior research scientist at Environment and Climate Change Canada in Saskatoon.  He is an adjunct professor at the University of Regina, the University of Saskatchewan, the University of Warwick and the University of British Columbia. He is an expert in environmental chemistry and more specifically, the analysis of the complex mixture of oil sands chemicals and their fate in the environment. He has also worked on the translocation of water miscible chemicals sulfolane and alkanolamines in plant tissue. His principal research interests are environmental mass spectrometry, remediation of petroleum hydrocarbons and process chemicals, and general analytical chemistry. Dr. Headley is a recognized expert in the mass spectrometric analysis of chemicals in the environment. He has co-authored over 180 journal articles and book chapters.

Past Winners


Lars Konermann

Western University
Society: CSC

Diane Beauchemin

Queen's University
Society: CSC

Michael A. Quilliam, FCIC

National Research Council Canada
Society: CSC

David D. Y. Chen

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC

Sergey Krylov

York University
Society: CSC

Jim Luong

Dow Chemicals Canada ULC
Society: CSC