Sponsored by the CIC

CIC logo

The CIC Medal is presented as a mark of distinction and recognition to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the science of chemistry or chemical engineering in Canada, this is the CIC’s top award.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2019 winner of the CIC Medal is:
Linda Nazar, O.C.
University of Waterloo

Linda Nazar received her BSc in chemistry from the University of British Columbia and her PhD in chemistry from the University of Toronto in 1986, and was an Exxon postdoctoral fellow at the Exxon Research Labs in Annandale, N.J. She then joined the faculty at the University of Waterloo where she is a chemistry professor, Senior Canada Research Chair in Solid State Energy Materials and Distinguished Research Professor. Nazar is known for her research on electrochemical energy storage with topics that span Li-ion batteries and “beyond Li-ion”, solid state ionics, and the role that nanotechnology plays in materials science. She has co-authored over 230 publications garnering over 30,000 citations on the WoS. She is on the Web of Science’s 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2018 Highly Cited Research Lists, and an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Nazar is currently a member of the Joint Centre for Energy Storage Research (USA), and the BASF Academic Electrochemistry and Battery Network (Germany). She has spent sabbaticals at UCLA; the Jean Rouxel Institute of Materials and the CNRS in France; and she was a Moore Distinguished Scholar at the California Institute of Technology in 2010. She is the recipient of numerous international awards including the Battery Research Award from the Electrochemical Society, the August-Wilhem von Hofman Lectureship, the International Battery Association Award and the International Automotive Lithium Battery Award.

Past Winners


André B. Charette, FCIC

Université de Montréal
Society: CIC

Eugenia Kumacheva

University of Toronto
Society: CIC

Stephen G. Withers, FCIC

University of British Columbia
Society: CIC

Axel D. Becke, FCIC

Dalhousie University
Society: CIC

Douglas W. Stephan, FCIC

University of Toronto
Society: CIC

Mark Lautens, FCIC

University of Toronto
Society: CIC