International Award

Presented to an individual in recognition of outstanding service and contributions in the international sphere to an industry that is based on chemistry, for its processes and/or services. 

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2017 winner of the International Award is:

Murray McLaughlin
Bioindustrial Innovation Canada

Murray McLaughlin is president of McLaughlin Consultants. He is an advisor to Bioindustrial Innovation Canada on international and governmental relations. He was the founding executive director of Bioindustrial Innovation Canada and the Sustainable Chemistry Alliance in Sarnia with a focus on a sustainable bioeconomy.

He has won several awards including the Gold Leaf Award from BIOTECanada and the Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Medal. He received the Life Sciences Ontario Lifetime Achievement Award 2016 and was recognized in the top 100 global leaders in the Advanced Bioeconomy at Biofuels Digest 2015 and 2016.

McLaughlin received a BSc from McGill University and his MSc and PhD from Cornell University. He also received an honorary doctorate from the Nova Scotia Agricultural College/Dalhousie University

Past Winners

Marvin DeVries, Trojan Technologies
Presented by Lorenzo Ferrari, CIC/SCI Canada Chair (right)

Dave Emerson, CCC Group, Canada Colors and Chemicals
Presented by David Beckman, CIC/SCI Canada Chair (left)

Jean-François Huc
President and CEO, BioAmber

John Bianchini
Hatch Ltd.