R. U. Lemieux Award

Sponsored by Gilead Alberta ULC the R.U. Lemieux Award is presented to an organic chemist who has made a distinguished contribution to any area of organic chemistry and who is currently working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2018 winner of the R. U. Lemieux Award is:

Hanadi Sleiman
McGill University

Hanadi Sleiman is a professor of chemistry and Canada Research Chair in DNA Nanoscience at McGill University. She received her Ph.D. from Stanford University, and was a CNRS postdoctoral fellow in Jean-Marie Lehn’s laboratory at the Université Louis Pasteur. She joined the faculty at McGill University in 1999, where her research group focuses on using the molecule DNA as a template to assemble nanostructured materials.

Sleiman is fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, associate editor of J. Am. Chem. Soc., and Editorial Advisory Board member of J. Am. Chem. Soc., Chem., J. Org. Chem. and ChemBioChem. Among her recognitions are the Netherlands Scholar Award in Supramolecular Chemistry, Izatt-Christensen Award in Supramolecular Chemistry, Swiss Chemical Society Lectureship, CIC E. Gordon Young Award , CSC Strem Award, NSERC Discovery Accelerator, McGill Dawson Award, fellow of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research and Cottrell Scholar (Research Corp.). She received the McGill Principal’s Prize and the Leo Yaffe Award for Excellence in Teaching.   


Past Winners

Cathleen M. Crudden, FCIC
Queen's University

Michael Organ
University of Ottawa

Chao-Jun Li, McGill University
Presented by Zhongxin Zhou, Director R&D, Gilead Alberta (right)

Tomas Hudlicky
Brock University

Marco Ciufolini
University of British Columbia