CCUCC Chemistry Doctoral Award

Sponsored by the Canadian Council of University Chemistry Chairs (CCUCC), the CCUCC Chemistry Doctoral Award is presented to recognize outstanding achievement and potential in research by a graduate student whose PhD thesis in chemistry was formally accepted by a Canadian university in the 12–month period preceding the nomination deadline.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2018 winner of the CCUCC Chemistry Doctoral Award is:

John Thompson
Gilead Sciences Inc. (For research carried out at Simon Fraser University under advisor Daniel Leznoff, FCIC

Originally from England, John Thompson obtained his bachelor’s degree in mathematics and chemistry (Hons) from the University of Canterbury, New Zealand in 2011. He pursued his PhD studies at Simon Fraser University under the co-supervision of Daniel Leznoff and Vance Williams. His PhD research focused on the design of highly birefringent materials via the use of supramolecular chemistry techniques, where his methodology has helped define this new field of work. During that time, he co-authored over 15 peer-reviewed journal articles and received many awards, most notably the 2017 Governor General's Gold Medal and Faculty of Science Graduate Student Excellence in Teaching Awards. Thompson is currently employed as a Research Scientist at Gilead Sciences in Edmonton.

Past Winners

Cristina Mottillo
McGill University

Stephen Winter
Physikalisches Institut, Goethe-Universität (For research carried out at University of Waterloo under advisor Richard Oakley)

Gabriel Ménard
Harvard University (For research carried out at University of Toronto under advisor Douglas Stephan)

Zachary M. Hudson
University of Bristol (For research carried out at Queen’s University under advisor Suning Wang)