Alfred Bader Award

Sponsored by Alfred Bader, HFCIC, the Alfred Bader Award is presented as a mark of distinction and recognition for excellence in research in organic chemistry by a scientist who is currently working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2018 winner of the Alfred Bader Award is:

Chao-Jun Li, FCIC
McGill University

Chao-Jun Li received his Ph.D. at McGill University in 1992 and was a NSERC Postdoctoral Fellow at Stanford University from 1992–1994. From 1994–2003, he was on the faculty at Tulane University (US) and, in 2003, returned to McGill University, where he holds the Canada Research Chair (Tier I) in Green Chemistry and E. B. Eddy Chair of Chemistry.  Currently, he serves as the co-director of the FRQNT Center for Green Chemistry and Catalysis (CCVC), and the associated editor for Green Chemistry (RSC).  He is a Fellow of the RSC (UK), the Royal Society of Canada, the Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC), the AAAS, the ACS, and TWAS.  He has published >400 research articles, 7 books, and has given 400 plenary/keynote/invited lectures.  His research focuses on exploring new chemistry that complements conventional reactivity and possesses high “atom-efficiency”---with a goal towards Green Chemistry. He was listed as one of the World’s Most Highly Cited Scientists by Thomson Reuters/Clarivate Analytics (2014–2017).

Past Winners

Andrei K. Yudin
University of Toronto

Dennis Hall, FCIC
University of Alberta

Michael A. Kerr, Western University
Presented by Louis Barriault, Treasurer, Organic Chemistry Division (right)

Robert A. Batey
University of Toronto

B. Mario Pinto
Simon Fraser University