Process Safety Management Award

Presented by the Process Safety Management Division as a mark of recognition to a person who has made an outstanding contribution in Canada to the Process Safety Management (PSM) Division of the Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering, recognizing excellence in the leadership and dedication of individuals who have led Canada in the field of process safety and loss management (PSLM).

The 2013 winner of the CSChE’s Process Safety Management Award is:

Graeme Norval, FCIC
University of Toronto

Graeme Norval, Ph.D., P.Eng., is the associate chair and undergraduate coordinator, at the Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry, University of Toronto.  He has been lecturing in process design since 2004.  His prior work experience was in the chlor-alkali industry with Pioneer, formerly CIL, where he was a senior research engineer.  He also is the principal of GWN Chemical Consulting, Inc, and provides technical and engineering support to various chemical manufacturers and repackagers across North America.

He has introduced concepts of safety and safety management into the chemical engineering design courses at the University of Toronto.  Further, he is actively involved with Minerva Canada in delivering their Summer Institutes, in which the basics of safety and safety management are taught to university professors, in order to boost the teaching of these subjects.  Further, he is part of the team that is developing e-modules, which will be freely available to all students in Canada; these will provide the fundamental building blocks of safety education for all students, and will fill the gap between the regular curriculum and the elements that industry desires.

In 2012, he was appointed to the Province of Ontario's Prevention Council, a group which helps set the direction for the Ministry of Labour's prevention activities with the goal of improving workplace health and safety.

2012 winner of the CSChE’s Process Safety Management Award

2011 winner of the CSChE’s Process Safety Management Award

Learn more about CSChE awards